River Crossing POA

History of River Crossing

The existence and further success of many thriving frontier communities, especially in the Hill Country, is directly the result of the hard-working, resourceful and sturdy settlers who arrived in Texas soil from Germany in the mid-1800s. 
 
It is not surprising to discover that long before Southerland Properties developed River Crossing, this land was part of that very proud German immigrant heritage. 
 
River Crossing's history begins with Friedrich Kuebel, born in 1824 and died in 1905, who is one of the founding German families of Comal County. He married Rosa Schneider in 1856. They are rumored to be buried between two backyards somewhere in the Spring Branch area. Friedrich gave the eventual River Crossing land to his daughter, Rosa. Rosa married Heinrich/Henry Rompel, Sr. (1869-1947). The land remained in the family with the Rompel’s son, Henry, Jr. and his wife, Ethelka. Ethelka passed on April 29, 1999, and Henry survived almost six months to the day, but passed on September 23, 1999. Alton and Joyce Robertson owned the property while the Rompels were still alive, but they sold the property to A.S. Gordon in 1966. Yes, the Gordon Jewelers family. Gordon Jewelers was a family-controlled company that was started as a general store in 1905 by Meyer M. Gordon, a Lithuanian immigrant. It was the Gordon family who sold the property to Southerland for its development into what we now proudly call our neighborhood, River Crossing! (Excerpt from The News Stream.)